Monday, June 17, 2024

Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and Suryakumar Yadav among first Indian players to depart for US for T20 World Cup

Indian Cricket Team Departs for ICC T20 World Cup in United States: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav Lead the Way

The Indian cricket team’s journey to the United States for the ICC T20 World Cup has officially kicked off with the departure of the first group of players from Mumbai airport. Excitement and anticipation are running high as the team, led by captain Rohit Sharma, pace sensation Jasprit Bumrah, and top-ranked T20I batsman Suryakumar Yadav, set off for the tournament.

Head coach Rahul Dravid and batting coach Vikram Rathour are amongst those accompanying the players, along with a talented lineup including Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, and Shivam Dube. The spin department is represented by Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel, both of whom are part of the traveling squad.

The team is gearing up for their first match against Ireland on June 5 at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. A highly-anticipated clash against arch-rivals Pakistan is set for June 9, followed by matches against tournament co-hosts USA and Canada.

With India aiming to end their ICC trophy drought, having last lifted the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013, the team is determined to secure their first T20 World Cup title since their triumph in the inaugural edition back in 2007. After a disappointing loss to England in the semifinals of the last edition held in Australia in 2022, the team is focused on redemption and bringing home the coveted trophy this time around. Stay tuned for more updates as the Indian cricket team embarks on their T20 World Cup journey in the United States.

Related Articles

Latest Articles

Most Popular