Monday, June 17, 2024

European countries to recognize Palestinian state, updates on Israel-Gaza situation

Three European Countries Recognize Palestinian State

Ireland, Norway, and Spain have made headlines by announcing their recognition of Palestine as a state. This decision has stirred up controversy and drawn criticism from Israel’s foreign minister.

Ireland’s Taoiseach Simon Harris stated, “Ireland today recognizes Palestine as a nation among nations with all the rights and responsibilities that entails.” Norway’s Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Støre emphasized the importance of a political solution to end the conflict in Gaza, while Spain’s Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez highlighted the historic decision based on peace, justice, and coherence.

However, Israel’s foreign minister Israel Katz condemned the move, recalling ambassadors to Ireland and Norway for consultations. He criticized the decision as a reward for terrorist organizations like Hamas, especially in light of recent violent events.

The announcement of these European countries recognizing Palestine as a state has added another layer of complexity to the ongoing conflict in the region. Stay tuned for more updates on this developing situation.

Related Articles

Latest Articles

Most Popular