Tuesday, July 16, 2024

Consumer fireworks are banned in only one state in the US

Firework Laws in the U.S.: What You Need to Know

The Fourth of July is just around the corner, and for many Americans, that means fireworks. But did you know that only one state in the U.S. completely bans consumer fireworks? According to a report by World Population Review, Massachusetts is the only state where all fireworks are illegal for private use.

This ban dates all the way back to 1943 during World War II, when fireworks were prohibited as a wartime measure. Since then, Massachusetts has remained firm in its stance against consumer fireworks, including sparklers and firecrackers.

In contrast, the purchase and use of consumer fireworks are permitted in 49 out of 50 states, with varying laws and restrictions. Legal consumer fireworks typically include Roman candles, sparklers, poppers, snakes, helicopters, ground spinners, and multiple-tube fireworks that meet certain regulations. These regulations include limits on gunpowder content and fuse burn times to prevent accidents.

While 15 states only allow non-explosive fireworks like sparklers, and three states have county-level regulations, the majority of states (31) have fully legalized the purchase and use of consumer fireworks.

As the Fourth of July approaches, the American Pyrotechnics Association reminds everyone to stay safe when handling fireworks. Tips for safety include having a sober adult in charge, reading and following instructions, keeping spectators at a safe distance, and more.

So whether you’re in a state where fireworks are fully legal or not, make sure to celebrate responsibly and have a happy Fourth of July!

Related Articles

Latest Articles

Most Popular