Friday, May 24, 2024

Bungie will showcase delayed Destiny 2 expansion The Final Shape next week

The studio will stream a half-hour developer gameplay preview on April 9 at 9.30am PT / 12.30pm ET / 5.30pm BST.

It will be followed by the worldwide premiere of Into the Light’s launch trailer.

Bungie officially delayed The Final Shape in November. Originally given a February 27, 2024 release date, The Final Shape is now scheduled to launch on June 4.

“The Final Shape is the culmination of the first ten years of Destiny storytelling and, for Guardians everywhere, countless hours spent together,“ read a message published at the time and attributed to the game’s development team.

“We want to honor that journey, so we’re taking the time we need to deliver an even bigger and bolder vision, one that we hope will be remembered and treasured for years to come.”

It was reported in December that Bungie’s position as an independent subsidiary of Sony Interactive Entertainment was under threat.

When the PlayStation maker acquired Bungie in 2022, it claimed the studio would “continue to operate independently, maintaining the ability to self-publish and reach players wherever they choose to play”.

However, an IGN report stated that the company’s board structure is contingent on Bungie hitting certain financial goals, and if it fails to do so Sony can reportedly choose to dissolve the existing board and assume full control.

Last October, Bungie’s staff were reportedly warned that revenue was running at around 45% below projections for the year, which was said to have been attributed to poor player retention for Destiny 2.

Struggling to meet its targets and with the threat of a potential Sony takeover looming, Bungie’s leadership reportedly embarked on a wide-ranging cost-cutting plan that saw 100 of the studio’s 1,200 employees laid off.

Related Articles

Latest Articles

Most Popular