Monday, July 15, 2024

Announcement of Contestants for the 2024 Mieczysław Wajnberg International Violin Competition by The Strad News

“Mieczysław Wajnberg International Violin Competition 2024: Meet the Contestants and Jury”

The stage is set for the highly anticipated second edition of the Mieczysław Wajnberg International Violin Competition, which will take place from 1 to 8 December 2024 at the Karol Szymanowski Academy of Music in Katowice, Poland.

This prestigious competition is open to violinists of all nationalities born between 1993 and 2005. Out of numerous talented applicants, 30 contestants have been chosen to compete for the coveted top prize of €10,000. The competition will consist of three competitive rounds where the violinists will showcase their exceptional talent and skill.

The list of contestants includes a diverse group of names, such as Kristina Besman, Julia Błachuta, Iohan Coman, and Maja Horvat among others. These young and talented musicians will have the opportunity to impress the esteemed jury panel with their musical prowess.

Speaking of the jury, this year’s competition will be chaired by Szymon Krzeszowiec and will include renowned violinists and music experts such as Andreas Vierziger, Eszter Haffner, and Bartłomiej Nizioł. With such an experienced panel, the competition is sure to be a tough but rewarding experience for all involved.

The competition is named after Polish composer Mieczysław Weinberg, who was a contemporary of legendary composers like Witold Lutosławski, Bela Bartok, and Dmitri Shostakovich. Interestingly, the first edition of the competition took place in 2021 and was won by Russian violinist Dmitry Serebrennikov.

As the countdown to the competition begins, the music world eagerly awaits to witness the extraordinary talent and passion that these young violinists will bring to the stage. Stay tuned for updates and highlights from this prestigious event that celebrates the beauty and artistry of violin music.

Related Articles

Latest Articles

Most Popular